The Carb-Up

For various reasons, I decided to have a carb meal. As I’ve written before my weight loss has slowed down and I just wanted to play with different stall-burst ideas.

Now, if you don’t care to receive too much information involving the female body, I urge you to cease reading this paragraph: Basically, since I started Keto just over one month ago, my shark week has turned into shark month. And this is after 4 years of virtually no periods (thanks to my birth control). I’ve been reading obsessively on /r/xxketo and many girls report the same problems, because quite obviously, we are messing with our hormones. Not limited to reduced insulin, we are also burning fat stores constantly in Ketosis (it’s our fuel!) and fat stores oestrogen. Thus, the burning releases extra oestrogen into the body.

Anyway. So I’ve been stressed with money, my family is crazy, the wedding/honeymoon, so I broke down and grabbed a McDonalds. It was only after very careful calculation (on their meal builder website) to find the best option – I still wanted high calories, lots of protein and fat as I don’t have a sweet tooth. So I got a Daily Double meal and ate 74g in one sitting. It was delicious. My stomach was okay. I did feel warmer – almost as if I could feel my stomach digesting it? Could be in my head. I got hungry. I ate that at 3:00pm; I can usually go hours and hours without food, but got hungry rather quickly and that annoyed me. I’ve had a dull headache since about 5pm yesterday.

Finished work at 10pm and still hadn’t had any adverse reactions, other than hunger. Still tested positive for ketones in urine, but I know that’s not always the most accurate reading at this stage so I didn’t think anything of it. I went to the gym hungry, attempting some form of Fasted Cardio for the day. Spent an hour doing the treadmill, elliptical, and stationary bike. I was feeling okay, but not experiencing the awesome energy levels Fasted Cardio did for me before. 

As soon as I stopped and got home, I crashed. I felt ill. My hunger was so bad it made me sick to my stomach. I got a protein shake in me quickly and ended my day at 90g of net carbs. I went to bed feeling like crap.

I woke up feeling like crap. My body feels stressed (had to take a muscle relaxer first thing this morning). I still have a dull headache.

Still tested positive for urine ketones, but my blood ketones were untraceable so that answers that question:

I’ve successfully kicked myself out of Ketosis. 

Two days ago I was reading at least 1.0 for blood ketones. (0.8 and below means your body is running on sugar/carbs). This morning, I lost half a pound (which I never count but am only noting due to the nature of yesterday). I ate 1,190 calories, which is pretty standard. I’ve actually cut my daily goal down to 1,250. It’s low but I  only ever manage that many anyway so it doesn’t phase me. 

So back on to Keto after that “carb up’! I hope the jolt to my system will kick me back into high gear – sometimes keeping your body guessing is what helps the weight loss. If not, then oh well, I tired. And as always, KEEP UP THE BLOODY CARDIO & WEIGHTS. The all-caps yelling is at myself. 

 

ForHealthxx

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Carb-Up

  1. Great timing with this post! I was just about to call my gyno about my cycle, but I think you’ve just answered my question!

    Because of PCOS, I’ve never had more than 2 cycles a year without the aid of hormones. My doc advised me to get on BC and I’ve been regular with that since August. But now, 1.5 months into keto and 15 pills into my pill pack for the month, there is a cycle! WHAAAAAT?! I was so confused and wondering what the hell was going on with my body! So, thanks for the heads up of wonky periods on this diet. Going to read r/xxketo.

    edit: OH MY GOSH. Just read a post where some girl who has PCOS completely regulated her hormones, periods, and reversed her symptoms with keto. 😀

    • AWESOME! I’m so glad my post helped!! I think I’ve read the entire backlog of r/xxketo haha. I’m always seeing the good results for PCOS. I’m so excited for you! Do a search of PCOS (if you haven’t already) and there’s great information there.
      Now if only my period will just GO AWAY… 😛

Leave a Reply

